Dream with me

Officially Deferred for a Year


4:39 PM - August 24, 2006

Well, I had my last ditch attempt today. I visited Lloyds to try to get funding for my course but, because I'm still searching for a graduate job, it was a no go.

This actually came as something of a relief, to be honest. I phoned Goldsmiths university yesterday, after getting my unconditional offer and officially deferred my placement for a year.

This is good, in the long run, I suppose. Because I applied so late, getting accommodation there would have been impossible. Because I am deferring, I can apply really early.

And in 12 months I can (assuming I am employed) get a full graduate loan to help with costs.

This does not mean I will not save up, this year. It just means I wont have to put aside as much per month. To meet the costs of my fees I worked out I would have to save �450 a month. However, with the possibility of a loan in 12 months (or less, actually) I can cut that to about �250 a month. That will give me plenty of money to spend on books, a new laptop and general cost of living while I set myself up at Uni.

Of course I am disappointed that I cannot afford to go this year. I think it is ridiculous that it is so hard to find help with funding. But I am determined to be upbeat about it. It will be nice to have money and some experience, too.

That said, I have a job interview on Tuesday next week. It's for a firm in Cambridge.

I applied for it weeks ago and thought I'd not gotten any further because I didn't hear anything back. But they called me on Monday for an interview.

(I am still kicking myself that my response to this was 'cool'. URG! Huzzah for sounding utterly braindead)

Anyway, getting work has become a real priority now. Not least because my parents are so far in debt they've got their accounts frozen.

I'd have more sympathy if I didn't see my mother buying this that and the kitchen sink off QVC every other week.

Anyway, it looks like I will be stuck here for at least another year. Joy. So some independence wouldn't be bad. I think the internet may be for the chop quite soon, so if possible I would like to get my own phone line upstairs.

I would also get the hell away from bloody Tiscali and their stupid 'fair usage policy'.

2GB download limit? For �20 a month? That a rip-off.

I've worked out that to pay the entirity of my fees next year I will have to save �450 a month. However, because I will (fingers crossed) be employed I should be eligible for a full graduate loan. Whereas banks like HSBC and Barclays are very specific about what you can spend a loan on Lloyds is not.

Which is just one of the reasons I am so pleased I transfered my account today. Now more HSBC!

Not that HSBC have been really bad, service-wise, it's just their customer-service that leaves something to be desired. They are always so uninterested in you, as a personal, and quite often unhelpful.

So I will be glad to officially see the back of them.

Also, despite my families best attempts, I have continued to resist a credit card. Admittedly, I could get one and put my fees and everything on that. Then spend the next fifteen years trying to pay it all back.

Yeah, thats sensible finance.

In a year, I will either use what I have saved to pay off my overdraft or part of my loan, depending on how much I have. I will not go the way of my parents. I will try not to spend more money than I earn.

Ahh, I always have such good intentions, don't I?

Which is why credit cards are bad. As James and co. will attest, I have no will-power whatsoever.

�1,000 overdraft limit + big shopping spree in Cambridge = bad thing!

So yes, things here are very stressful but I am determined to stay positive about it. We shall have to wait and see how all of this pans out.

Also, I hope you have all been enjoying my YouTube treats. Expect some more in a few days. Weather you want them or not!

Ja Ne loves

Times Past - Times to Come