Dream with me

Good day and a rant about American Superiority


9:51 PM - April 19, 2004

We didn't have PA today. In the end we didn't go to check but Hayley did and no lecture. Yay!

Law was dull but helpful, it was all just exam revision. Hayley has agreed to do my feature for me for GK.

This morning was pretty much devoted to doing sod all. Tomorrow will be all essay. Joy.

I spent like 10 mins trying to get a document off of a CD for Jodie this morning too. I'm such a nice person ^ - ^

Lol, yeah I know...

Anyway the days been pretty productive, inspite of the lack of work.

I got a stroke of good luck today though. I went to buy some lunch from the union shop and decided to pick up a blank art pad. And the girl behind the counter didn't charge me for it! She was talking to friends of hers while I cued and she mush have totally missed me picking it up! It wasn't until I was out of there before I realised!

Yay! Free stuff!

Ok. Yes I am feeling slightly guilty about it. I'm not sure if it's stealing if the silly cow just forgot to add it to the total. But I am willing to overlook the guilt because of the filthy look she gave me while adding up my total.

Cow.

Good news! Blair has decided to give us a referendum on the EU Constitution! Most of the country is, sadly, against it but I personally am Pro-Europe. I think America has been a super-power above everyone else for far too long and if Europe were to unite as it should there would finally be something to keep it in check.

No offence to any American's reading this but do you have any idea how terrifying the notion of the US is to the rest of us? Far more terrifying than Iraq or the whole of the Middle-East. A country insanly driven by the notion that it is the best in the world and utterly infalible? That to me is far more worrying than anything some tin-pot dictator can cook up.

Now I am not taking a pot at the American people. A lot of my friends are American and as a whole the country is nice and civilised, if a little messed up at times. But when it comes to patrotism even my sanest friends become utter zealots. 'America is the best in the world.'

It is not. America has no right to impose it's belief structure on another country.

Let me take an example from TV (just to soften the blow a little). The Sci-fi show Andromeda, whose basic premise is as follows:

"We are part of the Common-Wealth. Our way of thinking is the right way of thinking. We shall therefore travel the galaxy indoctrinating people to our way of thinking."

As James has called it a wholly American ideal.

I do not believe that America, Britain (particularly Britain, lets get our own country sorted first, ok Blair?) France, Iraq, Iran or any other country has any right to impose it's beliefs on others. Both points are valid. Both systems are believed in and supported by people. Maybe not the majority. Of course there are atrocities in places like Iraq and Iran but let's not bury our heads in the sand. America has a history just as foul.

Or have the American people conveniantly forgotten the genicide of and cultural destruction of the Native peoples of it's own fair state?

Many of my American friends have told me - when I raised this point - that those atrocities were perpertrated by Europeans. I would like to point out for the record that those 'Europeans' were the foundations on which your great nation was built. Bare that in mind, ok?

I didn't mean to rant. Well, obviously I did or I never would have written it all out so carefully but I do not mean to offend. I fully expect rebuttles and I look forward to an intellectual debate on the subject.

Stress on the word 'Intellectual'.

Well I have a 9am start for Shorthand tomorrow.

Ja Ne

Times Past - Times to Come