Dream with me

Work Placement and Appeal


4:19 PM - January 05, 2005

Ok today I was sorta productive. I went to the bank. Oooooo.

I also donated �10 to the Tsunami Aid Fund.

Britain's public has thus far raised �76 million and the Government is pledging to equal it which is fantastic.

I wish I could have donated more.

Anyway, my work placement has sorta changed. I don't start until Tuesday now because the woman I am working with is busy on the Monday. I think it will be eaiser all round to start a day later.

Of course this means I have to find another day somewhere. I'll ask Raff when I get back to Uni if the stuff I did before the year started can count. If not, I thought about a day or two during Easter for a charity PR office or the Lib Dems...

Parents, while ordering a B'day gift for a friend of dads (and my high school shop teacher!) ordered me 'Drawing your own Manga: The Basics'.

It should arrive tomorrow and I am dead excited. It'll give me something to do. This week promises to be quite dull but it's only a week.

I'm sort of excited about Work Placement now as the woman I am working with seems really nice. We've traded several e-mails and she seems very...excitable? Lot's of exclaimation marks!

I am feeling for the rest of the girls on my course. I have a day to fill out somewhere after my placement is over but the others have whole weeks to fill! Hayley only has a week booked thus far.

Next week in fact ^ - ^

It's getting a bit tight for the others on my course as there is only a finite amount of time left before assignments and exams. I mean, Raff and Malcome spent all of last semester pressing home the need to get placements sorted ASAP but I think I am one of the first to do mine. I think Dan has his placement over the holiday too.

Lectures are gonna be dead empty a lot next semester as most people will be taking three weeks off to get their placements done. Of course we are registered as present when on Placement but it still means missing a lot. I'm dreading missing two weeks right at the start of term because I'm gonna be really confused when I get back! I'm gonna be so lost!

I have dropped the idea of asking to join the Magazine Design modual for two reasons.

1) The Magazine courses are really popular so it's bound to be full and;

2) I had enough trouble conveying to Eddie that I was off for the first two weeks of next semester, so trying to convey 'I want to be *in* the class but not be assessed' seems far too much of a stretch.

Ok I have run out of things to say. All I want to add before I go is:

Please spare whatever you can to help the survivors and injured of the Asia Tsunami. It is not about politics or religions or ethnicity. It is about 150,000+ people dead and thousands more homeless. Please help.

Please.

Ja Ne

Times Past - Times to Come