Dream with me

The Groove and Human Rights


2:06 PM - January 22, 2005

You lot want to hear something really pathetic? I can still remember the dance to Stop by the Spice Girls. I'm doing it now.

I cannot believe I still remember that routine! It was popular when I was like 15 or something!

On a less embarassing note: we've made some progress with The Groove. It seems that printing is too expensive and far too much hassle. It came to me yesterday, it's so obvious! How can we be faster and more relevant than GK without conflicting in an obvious way?

The Web! The Groove is going online!

Hopefully this means it can all be set up quickly and easily and all it will really require are posters telling students the URL! Thats easy and the Uni can't shut us down.

It means we can update daily, review Uni events almost as soon as they are over and make GK utterly redundant. We can also become a lot more interactive with the student body!

The important thing will be to not compramise on the quality of writing.

I also want to see if it's possible to get some European Uni's involved too. I think that would make it really interesting.

We can have Uni events and I can still write about domestic and international politics because there are no restrictions on space!

Now I can't wait to get back to Uni and make a start. We've got advertising lined up for the magazine and, given that a blog will likely be more popular, we may be able to afford our own domain.

I'm seeing possibilities and it's great!

_________________________________________________________

NEWS

George W Bush will display a more consensual approach to world politics as he begins his second term as US President, Tony Blair has said.

The prime minister said Mr Bush had learned military force was not the only way to fight terrorism.

He understood that "the best prospect of peaceful co-existence lies in the spread of democracy and human rights", Mr Blair told the Guardian newspaper.

Like Blair has any right to talk about Human Rights when nine foreign nationals are still being illegally held in Belmarsh prison.

Humans Rights are probmatic aren't they? Especially these days. As a concept they are so simple but in practise they seem to elusive.

I was watching this programme late last night on BBC 2 in which this American columnist was saying she did not let her children watch TV because she didn't want them getting "Liberal ideas".

Well, the rant I could go off on with that is pretty obvious so I shall leave it alone. The point is later on she talked about Libralism and Human Rights as though they were filthy. She said 'Liberal' like it was a bad word and 'Human Rights' it was a disgusting sex act. Like Human Rights happened to someone else.

It's ok for American's and Britain's to have Human Rights, apparently, but no one else is allowed. Or if they are, it is only with the express consent of our leaders. Bastards.

As a 'Liberal' myself I find the attitudes of the Conservatives in the US offensive. I disagree with conservative policies which I think cause harm to or disproportionatly effects one particular group of people. I believe everyone should be equally exploited by their government. But I do not understand this incredible, tangible hatred between Liberal and Conservative.

In all fairness, the Conservaties in Britain (both the party and their supporters) are a joke.

When I was marching against Top-Up Fees in london there was this Conservative student attempting to show solidarity by parading with us. A lot of people just kept chanting "Shame on you, Shame on you, Shame on you for turning Blue."

(Blue is Conservative, red is Labour and yellow is Liberal democrat)

No one's quite gotten over Thatcher and Major yet.

Anyway. I think Blair is being overly optimistic about Bush in this article. I wouldn't trust the President as far as I could throw him.

Watch out Iran. We all know what is going to happen.

Ja Ne

P.S. For the complete story got to the BBC

Times Past - Times to Come