Dream with me

Do not give me blood. Give me Justice.


2:25 PM - July 07, 2005

I had wanted to write such a different entry today.

I had wanted to write about the pride I feel at the IOC choice of London. I wanted to write about my excitement.

But all of that is eclipsed now.

There have been, as I am sure all of you know by now, at least seven (at the time of entry) explosions on the public transport system in London.

I could write such an entry. I could scream and rant and rave and bay for blood and vengeance.

I could place blame on those who committed these crimes. I could place blame on those whose actions have brought this situation about.

But you will not find those entries here. They are not what is important here.

Instead I will shower praise. Praise upon the Emergency Services who's efforts have kept a tragedy from becoming a disaster.

I will shower praise, above all else, on the people who live and work in London. The spirit of the British people and Londoners in particular is something we hear about a lot. Britain is very proud of it's history, of it's ability to overcome adversity.

London has survived bombs, wars and terrorism before and it shall continue to do so eternally.

Hitler could not break it and no tin-pot little psychopath with too much facial hair is going to break our winning streak.

I wanted to write such an entry today. I wanted to crow about our victory yesterday. I wanted to be smug and utterly insufferable over it. I wanted to talk about how exhilerating it felt to have come from behind to win. How we had turned an Olympic bid seen as a joke by many into one of the most meaningful (non-military) victories of our time.

I wanted to be smug over the story in the news yesterday about Bush running his bike into a policeman at Gleneagles.

How quickly, Britains pride turns to Britains anguish.

But still there are positives. Thanks, in large part to the work of the Emergency Services and through what are thought to be some mistakes on the part of the criminals (for that is all they are, glorified murderers) we have suffered but not nearly to the extend other countries have.

America lost 3000.

Madrid lost 191.

London has - at time of entry - lost 33-40.

And yet, 40 is still 40 too many.

I wanted to write such an entry today. I feel robbed. I feel anger and grief.

But above all, I feel pride. I'm not a naturally patriotic person as you all know, and maybe this is still left over smugness from yesterday but today - of all days - I am simply proud.

I am proud to be British. I am proud to be strong. I am proud that we will never be cowed. I am proud of my countrymen.

It is still those, current and past, who have brought us to this point whom I loath with all my being.

To bomb and bay for blood. To lash out and kill. These are not the answers. These will solve nothing, will be mere salves that will fade to leave only exposed sores, unable to heal.

Maybe I am a bleeding heart Liberal. If I am, then so be it. I will not change.

I do not look for blood now. I look for Justice. I look to see those responsible in a court, reduced to nothing but criminals, not buried in the rubble of the homes of others.

Do not give me blood. Give me Justice.

Times Past - Times to Come