Dream with me

Appauled and Uplifted all at once


10:27 PM - July 07, 2005

[Second Entry]

Some people will take any excuse

Yes, I am frankly appauled by what has happened today, obviously. But what is being said in these posts has appauled me far more.

Some people on this thread (for those of you who, like me, give up about half way down) are actually *blaming* Londoners for the attacks of today.

One idiot (whom I would currently very much like to track down and garotte with his own flag) blatently stated that 'Leftists' such as myself are secretly pleased by todays events.

I am appauled by these people, American Bible-Belters to a man, almost as much as I am uplifted by the steady stream of messages of support flooding into just about every forum, Blog and site I know of.

But the best bit, the simply rejuvinating news of the day was that the overwhelming majority of Londoners are dealing with this tragedy in a time homoured British tradition.

They've gone to the pub.

How much more British can you get?

There was one report on Andrew Sullivan's Daily Dish (the link to which is on the 'Other Links' page about three guys in a pub, sitting in front of a big screen relaying the events of the day all reading The Sun's account of the Liverpool FC story.

I could mkae a joke about Sun readers here but on a day of supposed solidarity I shall refrain.

I would like to ask one thing though, of the void of which I have spoken many times.

Why is it that if those killing innocent people were Christian extreamists (of which there are plently the world over) there is no *way* debates like the one linked too above would be taking place?

Just a nuggest for you all to think on.

~Hexa

Times Past - Times to Come