Dream with me

Yay for Emulators!


2:12 PM - October 15, 2006

Three cheers for Emulators! Hip Hip!

I am currently killing time in front of the computer waiting for a rather large ROM to download.

A few days ago I downloaded a GameBoy Advance emulator and Rom pack. In the pack - along with some fantastic RPG's - was Breath of Fire II. After spending the day playing it, I decided to crack out my old copy of Breath of Fire IV, which I loved but never completed.

It was then that I discovered my 15 month old, �150 PS2 is broken.

It's nothing catastrophic, the complicated bits still seem to be working. It goes over to the default screen whenever I start it up. But it's not spinning the disks so it's not registering that they are in there. Which means it is pretty much just an expensive paperweight right now.

Dad and I will take it into the Sony store this week to see if it can be repaired. In the meantime, I have found a PS1 emulator and some good Roms which I can play until it's fixed.

I've also lost my copy of FFX which sucks. I don't want to have to buy a new one...

I need new games. Kingdom Hearts II is out but I've still not completed the first one yet. Plus it's really expensive.

I think that the next time I am in Cambridge I'll go to the various game stores and see if they have any old pS games going cheap.

These emulators have me in a retro mood!

I should also state for legal reasons that I am only downloading games I already own or that are not avaliable in the UK, like FF Tactics.

Although the tactics file is huge so I may not download that for a while yet.

Anyway, I'm off to kill time on YouTube.

Ja Ne loves

Times Past - Times to Come