Dream with me

Been a while, ne?


1:14 PM - November 04, 2006

I really don't know why I haven't written here in so long. A number of interesting things have happened to me recently and I keep thinking "I should diary this" but I never do. This always happens when I am at my parents.

So yes, I am still stuck here for the forseeable future. Joy of joys.

I went to the Guardian Graduate Careers Fair in London last week, which was entertaining.

I got to the correct tube station and was then officially lost. The map to the place consisted of lots of lines pointing off in various unreadable directions.

Just as I was contemplating giving up (I'm such a deafeatest ^-^) I overheard a random girl asking for directions to the same place so I tagged a long with her. She did tell me her name but I forgot it almost instantly ^-^;

We did find it eventually, no thanks to the map! Narry a mention of going down steps and through tunnels. Useless waste of paper that it was!

The fair was...how do I say utterly useless without sounding unkind?

Still, there were one or two stalls that were intersting and/or giving away cool freebies.

The Prison Service gave us porridge! HA! That still tickles me!

Reuters were there and we stopped off for freebies and a chat. Their graduate reporters programme requires you to be fluent in Chinese, Arabic, Farsi or Russian.

WHO on EARTH is going to fullfill those requirements? A 2:1 media related degree (advert-speak for Journalism) and fluency in the kind of dialects you have to speak from birth to be fluent in!

Let's face it, Farsi's not exactly a GCSE option, now is it?

Might as well ask for fluency in sandscrit for goodness sake.

MI5 was also there.

No, I'm not going mad MI5 actually had a stall. Covert ne?

Their lack of stealth does not bode well for the fate of our wee island nation, frankly.

Alright. I'm not stupid, I know a secret recruitment stall would be a little pointless but I would have enjoyed the challenge of finding it!

Anyway, once I was sufficiently laden down with freebies and what have you, the random and I went her seperate ways.

(Actually, she went to the ladies and I went to look at stalls we hadn't seen yet. I got bored (they were all gap year stalls) and left. I figured this was ok because I was getting the "I want to be alone" vibe. I really hope I read that vibe right and she didn't spend the next hour looking for me!)

After that I caved to girly pressue and went to Oxford Street ^-^;

From Oxford Circus I walked all the way up to the Marble Arch end, visiting book shops on the way. I was driven mostly by the desire to find an ATM and a Burger King, not necessarily in that order.

I must have passed 20 McDonalds but no BK so I was annoyed. Did I mention it was now 1pm and I hadn't eaten all day?

So I got the tube back down to Oxford Circus and walked all the way to the other end. Which took a lot less time.

I finally found a BK and an ATM there which cheered me up.

It was a real relief to sit down, I can tell you, my bag was seriously killing my shoulder at this point!

I looking in more shops, tried on some beautiful but very expensive boots and so on.

Then I went into Virgin and really made my day complete. West Wing Season 6 on sale!

So I bought it, of course ^-^

I also got a very cute manga which made me doubly happy.

So it was a really great day.

On top of that, I recently recieved (downloaded) a copy of Jon Stewarts America - the Book. So yay!

I feel slightly guilty for depriving my hero of a few coins but it has proven impossible to find over here thus far.

I still haven't gotten my PS2 fixed either. I was playing happily with my emulators but I've hit a glitch and I can't play on from where I am. I want to get it fixed by X-mas!

I asked for KHII this year but now I have changed my mind. Now I have to try to explain to my parents the apparently complex idea of pre-ordering a game. Buying it on Amazon as a gift that I wont actually recieve until Febuary.

Ha! Not possible, I'm guessing.

I may buy it for myself, while it's cheap on the site...

I'm referring to FFXII by the way. It looks frickin awesome!

Alright, well my Mother is hovering. We're supposed to be going to see my sister so I'd best sign off.

Ja Ne loves!

Times Past - Times to Come