Dream with me

Should I buy home Workout DVD's?


3:11 PM - January 08, 2004

I'm a little embarrassed by what I am about to tell you all. I'm looking at workout DVD's.

Now before you laugh (I'd laugh if it was anyone else) let me point out that I am *very* overweight and *do* need help getting motivated to exercise.

Interestingly enough I found two I thought I would not only enjoy but which would really help me. Tai-Chi for Beginners and Tai-Chi Combat. I think I would also buy them in conjunction with two other's I found - Jade's All New Dance Workout (don't laugh, I know it's lame) and Zoe Lucker - Little Black Dress Workout.

All of this came about because I was watching a programme about exercise in school last night and it just got me thinking about motivation. I hated PE at school because teachers tended to favour students who were good at sports. As a result I have always hated sports.

The only problem with these DVD's would be buying them (they ain't cheep) and then not using them. But I think if they work out they would be well worth the money.

I need to think more about this. But they are all so appealing. The Black Dress one and the Jade one are dance based so what would be more fun than just a plain old workout. And I've always had a yen to learn Tai-Chi. I even signed up for a class once but it was cancelled due to lack of interest.

I am not the sort of person who would join a gym. I would feel uncomfortable and would most likely only go once. I am too competitive. Thats why I gave up Yoga classes. I am too competitive and too unfit to do alot of it. It might have given my hall mates a buz but it just made me feel bad about myself. I think I would be more likely to workout if it was private and fun and there was no one to judge my performance, weight or ability.

So there it is. Advice would be appreciated. Do you guys out there think it's worth it? I *have* this extra money from the Inland Revenue so thats not a problem. If you think I'm exaggerating about my weight just take a look as some of the RL pictures posted here!

Ok so I need to go think about this logically. If I just sit here and stare at DVD's promising to teach me all the Martial Arts I've ever wanted to learn I'll end up buying a ton of them!

Ja Ne!

Times Past - Times to Come