Dream with me

Status Quo, Olympics and race relations...ooooo


10:15 AM - August 09, 2004

Status Quo rocked! The concert was great, even in spite of the warm up bands! (a wanna-be rock band and a guy with a banjo. I kid you not, he had a banjo.)

It was a really great concernt with the perfect weather. My dad the aged rocker! LMAO!

And now for something serious;

Watched a programme yesterday on BBC1, an Olympics special. The 50 greatest Olympic moments.

I was very impressed that it wasn't just British Athletes the public voted for. I think it was Jesse Owen's who came in second. He's the black American athlete who won four gold medals at Hitlers games. Blew the arian theory right out of the water!

Steve Redgrave won with his fifth gold medal over five games. It's an amazing feat just to *compete* in five games (apparently) so to win gold in them is extra good.

Linford Christie and Sally Gunnel were in the top ten too, obviously. So was the American swimmer who won seven gold medals way back when. You know, the one with the stupid mustache?

The best one by far - or at least the one which really made me feel something - was the British guy in Sydney in the 200m final I think. He pulled a hamstring and had to drop out. But then he stood up and kept on running. It was just so heartbreaking to see his face when he realised what had happened.

Programmes like that also make you realise how far the world has come, you know? Back in the 60's I think two black American athletes who won silver and gold wore black gloves during the medal ceromony to try to bring attention to what was happening in the states back then. They got stripped of their medals and chucked out of the games for it.

It does make you realise how far forward we have come, but it also makes you realise how far people yet have to go.

Now I am obviously no expert on race relations. I'm a lower middle class white girl from essex. The closest I have ever gotten to racism is being slightly annoyed by Chris Rock. (It works both ways, you know)

Anyway even I can tell we've come a long way. There's still a hell of a long way to go but still...

And I do think it's not as bad in Britain as it is in the States. It's still not great but no where's perfect.

I was dubious about writing this entry, there's always that underlying fear of offending someone when you discuss these things. In spite of that however I felt a need to write about it. Just thinking about how people were treated back during the civil rights movement makes me sick to my stomach. Like they weren't even human. They showed a VT of a cop or something taking an American flag of this little boy because they didn't want a black kid waving it. Sick.

Although in all fairness, white supremacists make me laugh. There is absolutley no basis for their claims whatsoever! In fact, the oldest civilisations discovered were Inuit I think. (I'm pretty sure I've spelt that wrong, oh well) NOT white. We only have white skin because it's cold here and rainy.

The colour of our skin has only been determined by climate for goodness sake!

People are stupid, no?

Again I want to state that I really hope no one was offended by this entry. There's a fine line between supportive and patronising when it comes to these sorts of subjects and I know some people would rather a girl like me left it all well enough alone. But I felt the need to write it, if only to get it off my chest.

I would also appreciate feedback. I want to know if something I said offended or...didn't..

Can you tell I'm a little paranoid about this entry?

What gave me away?

Ja Ne all

Times Past - Times to Come