Dream with me

Magazine Writing and LOAN!


8:13 PM - September 29, 2004

I HAVE MY LOAN CHEQUE!

Yes, my form finally arrived after almost a week and I managed to get my cheque this afternoon! I am so pleased!

Now I just have to try and get into the city center tomorrow to put it in the bank. I may ask Hayley for a lift in again. We may be able to have lunch too if she's not busy...

Anyway I had Magazine Writing today and it was really cool. I'm so glad we have Raferty!

We have to produce a 2500 word portfolio, 2000 of which has to be copy (articles) and 50 of which is our reasoning. All of the articles have to be submitted to magazines, too.

Which is cool because Freelancers get *paid*. One guy last year got �275 for an article about football mascots! So fingers crossed on that!

Three of my moduals this year are assessed in that way. Weather or not they are published is irrelevent (supposedly) but it's got to be nervewracking, posting stuff off like that.

Well not posting, e-mailing, but you know what I mean.

Besides, I don't trust the post office anymore.

Anyway we have our first sort-of assignment. In groups of three or four we have to come up with a name and masthead of a womens magazine and some vague content ideas. I'm working with Hayley, Jigna and Liz. We're meeting after my Journalism and Society seminar tomorrow to work on it.

I've also been through the Willings Directory which lists all publications in the UK, Europe and Internationally. See, it's quite possible I could submit to an American magazine. If I do, you lot over there have to buy it and all write to the Editors and say how fab it is, 'K? Hehehe.

So obviously I never made it to Fencing. I only spotted that my form had come when I was cooking my lunch (chicken chow mein ^ - ^) and it was gone 1:30 by the time I was done getting the loan sorted so I had no chance to go. It's a shame but I shall survive and my loan was more important.

Also, I have �50 excess that I can do what I like with so if Hayley comes to town with me I can treat us to lunch...Ok, I can treat us to the *drinks* with lunch...

You know I hate having to txt Hayley to ask for a ride into town. Hell, I hate having to ask for a ride full stop! I'd rather ask her in person or via MSN but she's not been online all day so I can't. I didn't get my loan till after we'd parted for the day.

This year looks like being fun cuz I have loads more with Hayley and Liz and less with just Sarah and me on our own. I love Sarah, of course I do, but it's nice to be able to spend time in practical lessons with my other friends too.

Well I'd best be off because I have not eaten dinner yet and I have a 9am start so I have shit to do.

Ja Ne

Times Past - Times to Come