Dream with me

Andrew Marr and My planned week


8:27 PM - October 17, 2004

My dad bought me a book. Andrew Marrs "My Trade".

For those who don't know, Andrew Marr is a BBC Political Correspondent and generally accepted to be one of the most respected in the trade.

I've read the Preface and part of the first chapter and I think it's a fantastic book. It's funny, enlightening and invaluable. And I've only read a little bit!

It's great!

So before I get into the bulk of today's post (which *isn't* all about Journalism, you'll be pleased too know) I want to share a brief quote with you all that I got a kick out of:

You cannot hope
to bribe or twist,
thank God! The
British Journalist.

But, seeing what
the man will do
unbribed, there's
no occasion to.

Humbert Wolfe, "The British Journalist"

It amused me ^ - ^

Tomorrow I have Ed and Pro so I have to remember to take my copy of SFX magazine so I can start assignment.

We have to create a mock up of an existing magazines from cover and the inside right hand page of a local daily newspaper and use 1500 words. Then a 1000 word evaluation.

Oh yeah *that* won't take long! I only have 5 weeks!

(Ok yes, I have more than 5 weeks but I always try to be done a week before deadline so I'm giving myself five weeks)

So tomorrow I'm making a start on the magazine. If I'm not agonisingly bored by the end of my two hours I may stay through Sarah's class to get more done.

Then I have a presentation meeting with Lorna. Then again, we were supposed to have that last week and the week before but we keep putting it off!

On Tuesday Sarah and I are spending the afternoon working on The Groove's design with Eddie (our Ed and Pro guy).

On Wednesday we're having an Editors meeting for the Groove with any luck.

On Thursday I have nothing much but possibly this presentation meeting, depending on what happens tomorrow.

On Friday Sarah and I are going to visit Printers to get some quotes. If Hayley is free we may ask her to come. She can drive, has a car, and we'll need the back up. Plus, when Sarah takes over and does the entire meeting by herself, I'll have someone to exchange useless-feeling smiles with.

Not that I can fault Sarah in meeting, she at least gets the job done. I just don't know why I was asked to help with The Groove's creation given that she seems happy to doit on her own.

And then, in between all of that I have to devise some magazine articles to write. We have to have some idea's for Wednesday.

I have the Michael Moore idea but I don't think anything will come of that so I need a back-up idea. Maybe something about women and gaming?

To help me out with that, if you are a Gamer Chick can you do me a big favour?

Can you e-mail, note or tag me and tell me why you think it is that, despite there being a large population of female gamers, companies and publications always focus advertising and products at men? I mean, the FF's are Shojo games! They were created to be played by the female market, which is obvious if you look at the main characters and plots! So why don't the Western companies realise that?

So help me out, because you are all lovely people, aren't you?

Anyway. I will have to give it a little more thought.

So I shall leave you now to get some sleep.

Ja Ne sweets

Times Past - Times to Come