Dream with me

Article rejected but new idea and so much *work* I am doing!


9:04 PM - October 27, 2004

Today wasn't a bad day. Had lecture with Rafferty (he showed up! woo!) and it was actually informative.

Granted I wasn't paying all that much attention. My first (rather shit in all fairness) article got rejected yesterday. I was a little depressed but I'm over it now and moving on to the next one. I think it's kinda good to get a rejection, brings you back down to earth.

Yesterday was kinda annoying overall actually. Malcome is still off ill so we had no class. Which is ok because it got our assessment put back a week ^ - ^

Spent the afternoon in - you guessed it - the Newsroom, working on my magazine cover. I e-mailed the SFX designer guy to ask what fonts they used and now he wants me to send him the finished product! I'm having a problem though, two of the three fonts are commercial only and cost anywhere between $30 - $70!

I'll have to talk to Eddie on Friday when Sarah and I go back to work on the Groove and our projects. I'm almost finished on the magazine, just got some tweaking to do. I think I'll leave it alone for a week and work on my Tabloid page.

Today was productive too. Spent the hour break between lecture and seminar working on my presentation with Lorna. We have two weeks until it's due so we figured we'd better get motoring. It's worth 30% of our final grade!

I also have to speak to Rafferty sometime soon about taking the Magazine Design and Production module. Maybe not for credit, just to learn. But hey, if I cock-up another module I can pull my grades back up with it.

^ - ^

See, contingency plans and everything!

I am going to write an article about Depression. I'm not sure what slant I want too take yet, but I've started researching the science parts. I now know a lot more about my condition than I did to start with.

I think I had Moderate to Mild Depression with a *touch* of Bipolar. Ok, a little more than a *touch*.

Bipolar means you have severe lows and highs and I had that a lot since I was about 15 until I was 18 or so. I still get that sometimes now, but not as often.

I've bordered on severe depression too, which is usually catagorised by suicidal thoughts or attempts. I've only ever had the thoughts but I went so far as planning how I'd do it and what I'd put in the note so...

Anyway I think, if anything, I now only suffer from mild Unipolar depression.

So I want to write a piece for parents (specifically mothers) about how to tell the difference between Teen Angst and Depression and the best methods to help them. Actually interfearing directly is likely to do more harm than good but understanding the science behind it can help. Also, to advise them to go to doctors,

So thats my weekend planned.

Tomorrow I have classes then more work on the presentation with Lorna and on Friday more Ed & Pro work. I was going to go into town again but I have plenty of food so don't need too.

So now I have run out of things to say. I shall leave you, therefore.

Ja Ne my darlings!

Times Past - Times to Come