Dream with me

On the Nature of Blogging


1:52 PM - December 03, 2004

Well, as you can see I've changed my layout again. I like this one, it's a little more cheerful than ones I have had previously but still sutibly morose to fit my musings.

I am in the library again. I've been here for four hours already. I have discovered I need to write one more quick article for Magazine Writing.

I am writing about Blogging being the new Journalism. And it is. I respect the opinions of more bloggers than I do of some 'experience Journalists'.

It's actually a very interesting subject. I am enjoying myself greatly.

I have added some new links to the side of this page. They are to Blogs that I have found and begun reading recently. I was very impressed to discover Andrew Sullivan, a highly respected editor and writer in the US (and a Brit, yay!) has his own Blog. It's great and updated all the time so check it out!

I wonder if I e-mailed him, he'd give me a quote for this piece... I can but try, ne?

If I got one, I'd have a better change of flogging the piece, I guess. I'll give it a go.

Anyway, I spent most of yesterday evening in the library. Not actually doing work of any description, just trading e-mails with Sivy and Sarah. Sivy and I still cannot chat of course so we e-mail instead. It's kinda nice to get mail for a change! Mail thats not junk, I mean.

I finally got phone credit too from the oldies so I was able to make sure the girls knew tomorrow is off.

I think we shall have to arrange another time next semester.

Still, it's not all bad because I am going to lunch / drinks with Liz on Tuesday for her birthday. I *think* Hayley is coming, I'm not sure. I wasn't really paying much attention when they were discussing it.

There. I e-mailed Andrew Sullivan. I don't expect a reply but I can wait until about Tuesday before I plow on through without it.

I think I am becoming frighteningly addicted to this mans blog...

I love my Blog, as many of you will know. I adore it. I spend more time maintating it than anything else I do online. The great proportion of the four hours I have already been online in here today has been focused on putting up my brank spanking new layout.

I am also a firm believer in the imminant death of newspapers as more and more people get online. It's simpler and quicker to read the news on the BBC than to pick up a newspaper. With online too it is easier for *you* to decide what is news instead of being told by some middle-aged white man in the Editors office.

So Blogging, to be, is the lastest in a long line of online journalism developments. No one could have failed to notice the banners and links all over the place to blogs supporting particular political, social or religious values.

I think it is a good and bad development. Yes, it's easier to find people who support your views and to find information. But with so many bloggers, so many sites and no way of ensuring what is written in blogs is actually *true* it can be a bit of a Trojan Horse.

Still, I like that it is opinionated and the variety is spectacular.

Yes, I truly love Blogs ^ - ^

Ja Ne

~~edit~~

**Jumps up and down in joy** Bless the man in all his blessed manliness!

In an effort to get comments / quotes for my Blogging article, I e-mailed the owner of Harry's Place. About 20 mins ago in fact. And he replied!

He asked me to send him some questions to comment on. I was at a bit of a loss to be honest as I hadn't expected to have to ask them *tonight* but I did the best I could and fired some off.

Go me!

So now I am sitting here waiting for a reply. With any luck I will get one before the library closes. If not, you *know* I am gonna be here tomorrow!

In fact, it's a pretty sure bet I'm gonna be here tomorrow anyway!

~~End Edit~~


Times Past - Times to Come