Dream with me

G8 Finance


5:35 PM - June 11, 2005

It's time for everybody to get up, jump up and down, cheer and applaude because finally, *finally* real steps are being made towards helping the worlds poor.

Under new proposals from the G8 Finance Ministers, 18 of the worlds poorest countries have been qualified for immediate, 100% debt relief!

Namely:

Benin, Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guyana, Honduras, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

There is of course an enourmous way still to go. A lot more countries and millions more people who need our help but in politics, nothing is ever as simple as just writing a cheque. But finally, finally, we move in the direction we should have begun to move in 20 years ago.

I am certain you will all have heard about the plans to march to Glascow in July and the Live 8 concerts.

It all takes place the week of the Media Summer school I am helping with. I am contemplating pulling out so that I can go as well.

Well I am now feeling optimistic. Don't know how long it will last but sometimes it's nice to find something positive.

Times Past - Times to Come