Dream with me

A slightly late entry


10:23 AM - September 22, 2005

I have decided that, because I�ve been lazy and haven�t bothered to go to the library since I got back (I�m writing this part of the entry on Monday) that I will write a bit in my room.

Saturday was a pig of a day. The drive took a lot longer than normal, for some reason. Not really sure why, there was no heavy traffic.

Anyway, got moved in ok. I didn�t really meet my new housemates because most people were too knackered.

Liz came over for a while to get her West Wing videos back and to catch up on the events of the summer. I had an early night in the end.

Most of Sunday was spent finishing unpacking and enjoying my new Freeview box (I�ll come to that in a bit). In the evening there was a sort of meet and greet thing in our common room. Quite a lot of people came. At 10 nine of us (in a seven seater taxi) went to the LRV. It was a dead good night and the place looks great since the remodelling!

We stayed until closing (2am) then walked back. The walks not bad, about 20 mins if you can cut across campus. Surprisingly, at gone 2 in the morning, the back gate was open. It usually closes at 7 or 7:30. Maybe they finally got rid of the idiotic policy? I mean, the whole campus is open on three out of four sides!

Anyway, the walk isn�t too bad but after dancing for three or four hours my feet were killing me!

The music was really good. Dead cheesy for the most part. We even got a Five melody! Five were a boy band I was a fan of in High School. Also, PJ and Duncan (now better known as Ant and Dec) Ready to Rumble! The best bit is every single person I was with (myself included) knew the words! That song has to be the worst, cheesiest wanna-be rap song ever recorded! I loved it!

Everyone here in the Halls is nice enough. Good for a laugh. I was pleasantly surprised by some of them too. Judging books by covers and all that.

Saw Sarah in the LRV too. She was already three sheets to the wind by the time I saw her and was totally shit faced by the end of the night. She�s one of the most amusing drunks I�ve ever known.

Before I came to Uni I bought a Freeview box. Basically it�s a digital TV thing that lets me get about 30 new channels. Which is very good, even if it is a little temperamental. I�m enjoying having a little more choice and being able to watch my fav shows. Except I couldn�t today, because I couldn�t get a signal because of the weather.

I�m seeing Hayley tomorrow (Tuesday) supposedly. We�re going to the Freashers Fair to con free stuff out of the Union and then off to get time tables and the money the Uni owes me. 20 while quid. Very useful because I need to buy milk, eggs and some kind of meat product. Pork chops or something, whatever�s either cheap or on sale.

I�ve spent much of today playing games and just puttering about, Chatted to some of the boys who were up watching TV in our common room. There are only two in the Hall, one upstairs and one downstairs. I�m lucky, in that my room is directly outside the common room, otherwise I would most likely never have used it!

For security reasons, all the boys are downstairs and all the girls are upstairs.

We had a fire drill this morning. After such a late night, it was really really irritating. None of the girls on our side made it all the way outside, we just sort of lingered in the stairwell until they turned it off. Not that it�s surprising. Most of the girls weren�t dressed or had just showered and no one wanted to stand in full view of the road like that. Anyway, I discovered Dan off my course (a real nice guy and friends with Nadine) is also living here.

My rooms nice too. Quite a bit smaller than its been for the past few years but not in a bad way. In a very good, cosy kind of way. There is a proper freestanding bookcase this year, instead of shelves, and it�s much more pleasant. There�s nothing better to my mind than the sight of a well stocked bookcase. Sad, I know, but true.

I even have a sink this year! With a cupboard underneath it for toiletries and everything! I�m dead pleased. My room looks out onto the courtyard, with the view of a tree and a bunch of rooms opposite me.

Well, that�s all I have to tell you guys. If anything else interesting happens I shall add it and you can all feel wonderfully enlightened. Aren�t you excited?

Ha.

Ja Ne loves!

Times Past - Times to Come