Dream with me

A really long entry about nothing really


3:22 PM - February 04, 2006

Heh I was *such* a bad hostess last night! I pretty much just left Liz watching the West Wing in my room and went and hung out downstairs with Nadine and Co. Turns out I was in the mood for humcan interaction, just not with Liz.

Liz is a lot calmer than most of my friends. If you want sensible conversation you hang out with Liz. She's good at that but theres not too much screaming laughter like there is with Nadine and Dan.

So yes, I was a very bad hostess and I feel kind of bad for it. If she is free after class on Monday I shall buy her a drink as an apology.

Still, it was really good fun last night, even after they decided to get stoned. I don't really like hanging out while they're getting stoned for one reason; it makes me really sleepy!

Anyway it was a good night. I must have got a bit giddy from it because Nadine and I decided to play Knock Down Ginger on Ed's door. The *plan* was to knock then run up to my room. However I am not built for running and I ended up tripping over my own feet on the stairs and taking us both crashing down. We were laying on the stairs for like five minutes roaring with laughter!

Then we went to get some fresh air which found Nadine running around the car park then yelling "Rapists like to hide in skips!" and trying to get into the rubbish skip!

I love stoned/drunk Nadine!

So yes, good way to spend a Friday night, in my opinion. Nadine's mate Dave even bought me chocolate! This guy's growing on me. I'd like him more if Nadine hadn't told me what a git he was as a boyfriend.

They've gone walking in the Peak District today. Luck sods. I like walking but I can't do it much because of my feet (I have flat feet and that makes walking for long periods painful). Besides, I only like walking by myself. I do some of my best thinking whilst I am walking.

I mean, take the walk from Halls to Uni today. I was thinking about immigration and, yes, walking.

About immigration I was just thinking about how irrational people's fear of immigrants is. I mean, they benefit us economically and culturally, they're a positive influence on our country. Still, I think it's that same mentality that led to the persecution of the Jewish in Nazi Germany. If people's lives are bad they need someone to blame. Foreign immigrants are the perfect scapegoats. We hear the same speal "They come over here, take our jobs and don't even bother to learn our language."

Ok for a start they are only taking jobs that British citizens aren't qualified for or don't want! If some Chav somewhere would rather live on the doll than get a job he can't blame immigrants for that.

As for not bothering to learn our language where is the evidence for that? Certainly if you pass two people in the street and they're not speaking English you can assume they aren't native. But please, if we moved to a foreign country would *we* walk around speaking that language to one another? No, what would be the point?

Secondly, they're learning a language on the fly, I think they can be forgiven if it takes a while to pick it up around all the slang and mispronunciation that fills modern English.

I find it so hypocritical when the English criticise immigrants. I mean, a majority of our population still thinks that if you speak loudly and slowly then Johnny foreigner will understand. Yeah, that�s cultural tolerance for you.

I'm sorry if this seems a little ranting or if it's stuff I've said before but it's something of a bug bear with me.

On top of that though I was wondering why on earth anyone would want to move here, of all places.

Come to the UK for a better quality of life! (If by 'better' quality you mean colder, wetter and more abusive.)

So as you can see, I was feeling very positive on my walk into Uni!

I slept really late this morning though. I don't usually sleep much past nine. I may stay in bed but I don't sleep. This morning I woke up at 10:45! Admittedly I was watching the West Wing repeat until 1:30 but it's not unusual for me to be awake gone one. I'm blaming the weed, frankly.

As you can tell I am sure, I'm writing a really long rambling entry today. This is because I am doing much downloading and am trying to find something to keep me occupied. Some of these downloads are pretty big, after all!

I have been playing FF9 too. I'm so bad, I'm just finding tons of ways of not doing any work.

Much to my annoyance though, I found that all the copies of the book my lecturer recommended I read have been taken out of the library and aren't due back for another week! I'm supposed to have this Intro written by Thursday at the latest. Dang it!

If the books not returned by Wednesday I shall just have to write it without it.

I am loving Sacred Tear's MP3 rotation this week. It's all High and Mighty Color which is fantastic!

**Bows to the Great and Glorious Webmistress**

The sites having loads of server problems right now though. I'm impressed that even through that she's updating her files and keeping what she can online for her visitors to download. I suppose she has notice the trend that if your site is down for a prolonged period of time all your visitors go elsewhere. Scanlation fans are not patient people, as a rule.

I know I'm not. I get really overly excited when I see that a series I am following has updated, even if it is only by one chapter.

At some point, I will create a Scanlation page on my diary linking to all my favourite mangas. No hotlinking, of course, because hotlinking is evil!

Hey, maybe I will do it today while I am killing time between downloads.

Or I could just keep randomly writing down equally random thoughts in this entry for my own amusement.

Depends on weather or not I run out of things to say, I suppose.

I wish Emotionally Driven would update her rotation. It's due to change today but I'm guessing the time difference is getting in the way again. I'm hoping to be able to download some more music videos from her. She really is the primo site for good JRock MP3's, in my humble opinion. I recommend all of you to check her out. You can stream her songs if you don't want to download which I think makes her site about a million times better than most.

The fact that it was through her I found Gackt, Hyde, High and Mighty Color and Glay just endears her to me even more.

Heh, I wonder how many of you have managed to follow me this far down the page. *I* most likely wouldn't have managed it if this wasn't my diary.

For so long I wasn't able to write much more than a few paragraphs for an entry and now look at me! You can't shut me up, can you? HA! I'm loving this!

I've just put my entry into Word so I can spell check it and guess what, it's almost four pages long! HA! Now this most definitely classes as a 'rant' don't you think? Maybe if I was a bit more vitriolic then it could be classed as a tirade but I don't think I've called anyone any derogatory names yet so I guess I'm being far too measured.

I could rant against Megaupload and their stupid monthly download limit that means I can't download anything for weeks once it's used up.

It's irritating. Understandable, yes, but still irritating. I don�t suppose I should be too annoyed though, the limit means I can download for free which is always my favourite price for things.

By the way if you want a good laugh check out TeRRa'S diary. I found it randomly through a Diaryland banner and she made me laugh. Read her entry on telemarketer torture in particular!

Only downside to her site is the irritating Midi that plays the entire time and is impossible to turn the fuck off!

I hate hate HATE midi's on websites! For a start why use a Midi when you can use and MP3 just as easily these days? Secondly, if you are going to put music on your site you HAVE to give people a choice about turning the wretched stuff off! I mean how irritating is it to be listening to music on your computer only to find it suddenly interrupted by this tinny little jingle jangle excuse for music?

Besides, it defeats the object of the site as well, doesn't it? How many of us stick around on a site where the music interrupts what we're doing? It's not like these sites ever have anything really original and unique to offer us anyway.

Call me crazy but I always thought the purpose of a website was for people to visit it?

You know, I have been writing this diary entry since 1:30pm. It is now just gone 3pm. Heh, the library closes in three hours so I'd better hurry up with what I'm doing, ne?

I've become totally addicted to the Daily Kos, you know. It's only through reading them that I remember why it is I have a small problem with Andrew Sullivan. He is a Conservative (both big C and small c) and I am really really not. I'm a dirty hippy liberal, remember.

I find it irritating that he dismisses Kos as 'raving lefties'. Although he does this I think because he knows how popular and influential the Kos is. I mean, he doesn't have former Presidential Candidates blogging for him, now does he?

Hey what do you know, this entry might just progress from rant to tirade if I keep this up!

I don't know why but I really want to go to the cinema today. Only thing is though I'm not sure there's anything I want to see. I want to see Jarhead but not on my own, you know.

I suppose I could go and see Fun with Dick and Jane or Rumour Has It, which are both on at 7pm.

As out of character for me it may be, Underworld just holds no interest for me whatsoever. This is very unusual but frankly, I have yet to see a well made Vampire or Werewolf movie and this one just seems so clich�d.

Ok, I have one more series to download then I shall burn this disk and call it a day.

Although, it's a five volume series so it's going to take a while. Burning this disk is going to take an age too.

Man I hope it works ^-^

Wouldn't it majorly suck if I tried to burn this disk and lost everything?

Either way though, once I am through here I am going home to play FF9 and (disk permitting) sort through my downloads.

Also, note taking.

By Monday afternoon I have to have finished note taking from all those books I have out. For one thing I can't renew them anymore! So I have to do lots of work this weekend. Yay. Joy. Woot. <--Sarcasm does not come across well in a diary entry.

Wow, my entry is now five Word document pages long. It's been a two hour splurge of not-really-verbal crap, hasn't it?

Well I can only hope it made at least one person other than me smile ^-^

I really really should submit this entry now. It's starting to take on a life of it's own now.

Really, it's called Chester and it likes to collect minature cars and lunch boxes. Normal sized lunch boxes I mean, not minature ones. That would be weird.

Anyway! Leaving now!

If you managed it, thanks for sticking with me guys!

Ja Ne loves! At last!

Times Past - Times to Come