Dream with me

Home and Commonwealth Games


7:46 PM - March 21, 2006

Well, I am at home now.

My parents leave for Barcelona tomorrow morning and so starts three days of peace and quiet. I hope to get a lot of reading done (gotta read the Hutton Report and the infamous Iraq Dossier by Monday) but alos lots of nice relaxing!

I have, predictably, been watching the Commonwealth Games for much of the past week.

I must admit I have been pleasently suprised by the quality and success of the British athlites. After a few years of not winning any titles whatsoever it's almost mindblowing to see the list of now Commonwealth Champions.

Admittedly, the Australians are not on form. They're not swimming nearly as well as they could but that may be because of the approach of the World Championships in Singapore next month.

Plus the absence of Hackett and Thorpe have left the field in the pool wide open.

Still, we've also been doing fantastically out of the pool as well. Two virtual unknowns, Christine Ohuruogu and Lisa Dobriskey, won the 400m and 1500m respectivly.

Ohuruogu beat the Olympic and World Champion and Dorriskey was at her first ever major meet "for the experience." Not bad experience, huh?

Plus we've been doing extreamly well in the cycling and shooting events. We're (England) second in the medal table, which is fantastic.

But as Britain over all, we're in fantastic shape for the Worlds so fingers crossed, ne?

We got no better than a Bronze last time round (that *can't* have been a year ago, can it!?) so we really can only get better. Right? RIGHT!?

heh...

Anyway, it's possible I could be going back to Uni on Friday instead of Monday. I really would like to get back to work, you know, so I will seriously consider it.

Charlie is coming for the day tomorrow. We're going to hang out and (she is going to) drink the beer my dad has left over from some event or other.

We're going to do facials and DVD's, so I am really excited.

Well, that is all I have to say right now. I shall try to update again soon.

Ja Ne loves!

Times Past - Times to Come