Dream with me

A Random Collection of Thoughts


8:57 PM - March 30, 2006

Alright well first off I just want to say This guy really need to give it up because it's just not working! This guy (I think he's a U.S. Senator) Kaloogian posted pictures on his website which he claimed he had personally recently taken in Iraq of "Happy and safe" Iraqis in a suburb of Baghdad in an effort to prove there is no Civil War going on.

Turns out of course (thanks to the wonderful people over at Daily Kos.com) that the photo was taken in Instabul, Turkey. The picture he just put up to replace it showing a non-blown-up section of Baghdad is also bull. Daily Kos pulled the metadata which showed the picture was just over a year old.

Now here is a guy whose not quite got to grips with the concept of a) modern technology and b) no lying.

It's really quite pathetic the lengths people will go to to avoid saying "sorry."

Anyway.

On a more positive note, I've been really quite productive today. I re-read and made a few final alterations to my China chapter. It is now officially finished.

I also have started re-writing my Iraq chapter. I have about 800 words now, mostly about the Iraq Dossier. I have to draw in the role of the mass media, Charlotte Beers, Radios Sawa, Farda and VoA and bloggers. I'm feeling very pleased with myself.

I paid my deposit for Graduation yesterday and went to buy shampoo and sugary things in Stoke.

It was also really nice and sunny yesterday. Not particuarly warm but still sunny. Looks like Stoke's finally remembered it's supposed to be spring.

It's been a bit dark and dreary today but at least it's not rained yet.

Actually, part of me wishes it would because I haven't washed my hair today and I'm feeling self-conscious about it.

Still, I'm here doing not-very-much-work. I've been adding the odd scentence onto my work for the past hour but nothing really substantial.

I really should email this completed chapter off to Alan you know but I keep chickening out. I am so far behind that I would much rather be able to send off two completed chapters rather than one.

Still, if I keep going at this rate I will be finished by Monday. That means I can send it to him *and* have a few days to concentrate on Micks stuff which is due in a week from today.

**Goes to sit and rock gently in the corner for a few minutes**

You know I think I spoke too soon...I think it's raining again...

Never freaking stops in this wretched place.

Honestly though, I don't mind the rain provided I'm inside. I like to watch it and its nice to hear it when I'm working or reading or whatever.

I'm reading this thread on the Guardian News Blog about MP3's V's CD's. Apparently you can make a mint selling your ripped CD's on Ebay.

There are a lot of coots here bemoaning the loss of 'hard music' formats.

Honestly, you'd think the fact that MUSIC COSTS LESS is going to destroy society as we know it!

Why do people get nostalgic for things that made them scream with frustration 20 years ago?

"TinTin,
Your right, and what about the skills required to tease the tape out of the heads of the machine when it got all tangled up and if the tape broke you'd carefully glue it back together again. OK so your favourite song had a few bars missing in the middle but you could always tell your mates it was a special early studio version. And then ofcourse if the tape tightened up so that Robert Plant started sounding like Barry White, you'd simply rewind the whole tape manually by spinning it on a bic biro.
Oh. Happy days!

Posted by gordonimmel on March 29, 2006 10:50 AM."

Honestly!

I remember the days of sitting in my sisters room listening to the Top Forty on Radio One, hitting Stop and Record over and over to record the songs and cut out the announcers drivel! The screaming at each other the turn the tape over when it poppe up half way through a song. Then sitting there for ten minutes while the whole tape rewound.

Honestly, I really do not miss the days before advanced technology took the hassel out of stealing music...Heh. And they say music piracy is a 21st Century menace!

Good grief the middle-aged are so...curmudgeonly!

That's a FANTASTIC word!

I'm having one of those weird-thoughts rambly entries again. Yay!

I couldn't resist, I posted a response to the thread! Heh I'm this close to being curmudgeonly myself!

After spending a good three and a half hours here last night I have promised myself not to stay much past 9:15. This is partly because I want to get fish and chips on the way home and partly because I spend an OBSCENE amount of time here.

A lot of time with surprisingly little work getting done.

I work much better at home now. Which is annoying because I've figured out what it is thats been screwing up my back. It's that wretched desk chair!

The chair that came with the room is appauling. Really uncomfortable and with no back support whatsoever. Because of this I pinched one out of the kitchen. It's this chair thats screwing up my back because the back of it bends when you sit back (lots of 'back's there, ne?).

I either have to pinch another one or just grin and bear it I suppose.

Ah, I made a wonderuful discovery yesterday morning. Channel 4 have started showing Without a Trace in the mornings again. At about 11am which, since the clocks changed, it about the time I get up now ^-^

I'm going to have to combat this by setting my alarm in the mornings, you know. Sleeping in is all well and good but it wastes the entire morning!

It occurs to me that I haven't emailed or contacted Sivy in a week or so now. I'd best correct that before I go home for the night...

While reading this blog I found This story about miracles. You know the thing, faces of the Virgin Mary in x-rays, Jesus in Tortillas?

It strikes me as odd, all in all. God is all powerful, surely he can provide us with better proof of his existence than a few random assortments of lines on a pastry? Our circulatory system, for example. Osmosis. Who can argue that the creation of these processes is anything but miraculous?

But no! A piece of burnt Mexican food is so much more Holy!

Reading this Blog (which is more like a collection of Worlds-Stupidest-People stories than actual news) merely confirms my belief that we are all idiots, really. In the end.

Alright, well it's almost time for me to mosey on home. Ths has been a long nough entry to tide you guys over for a day or too so I shall see thee later rather than sooner.

Ja Ne loves and may the Force be With you!

Times Past - Times to Come