Dream with me

Working Working and Word Count left in the Dust


4:53 PM - April 08, 2006

Well check me out with the productivity and what have you!

I have started Chapter Three (technically Chaptet Two's not finished yet but I'm tearing my hair out over it so I am going back later) and I have about 500 words dow so far. Not bad for my day off, ne?

I've started compiling my Bibliography as well. I've got all the books, journal articles, newspaper articles and websites I've quoted and referenced all listed, now I just need to add the things I read and did not use directly.

John said we should have about 50. I've done my intro and two chapters referencing and I have 45 already...Heh...I tend to go really overboard with my research...

Ok...Now including the book titles I have with me in my research I have 57 seperate sources. Go me!

And here I was thinking I'd done no real work!

I've been reading a new manga called Airgear. It's very good (can't say much more than that as I've only read the first 5 chapters so far). I still haven't finished downloading Hunter x Hunter, but I've not caught up with reading all the chapters I *do* have yet so there's no point.

I've made a few changes to Chapter One just now too. I think it rounds up a little better now. I have about 600 words on Chapter Three as well which is very good. I'm doing a little ramble about blogs and Citizen-produced coverageto highlight a change in the way public diplomacy and propaganda reporting has changed in recent years.

"It is the digital revolution however that has had the most visible effect on the way in which public diplomacy and state propaganda are received and reported. Whereas the mass media is still content to remain with the old system of reporting the official line in an impartial manner and � in theory at least � allowing the consumer to form his or her own opinion, the internet has given birth to a new form of media.
Citizen-Produced coverage [1] such as personal weblogs and homepages now fill the online news landscape and in some cases are more trusted than traditional and �legitimate� media organisations. Without editorial control from large business concerns, independent news blogs and sites find it much easier to analyse the information and propaganda fed to the population at large.
Their emergence has made public diplomacy and propaganda a much more challenging task. No longer sitting on the fringes of society, the radical and descent-driven press is now online and mainstream.
Although most blogs and sites are personal and offer little serious or breaking news coverage, sites such as The Huffington Post [2] and Daily Kos [3] have filled the bridge between the consumers and the mass media.

�Most of the amateur content would be inaccessible, or at least hard to find, if not for many of the Web�s outstanding weblogs, which function as �portals� to personal content.� [4]

Although the writer, Leander Kahner, was referring to the immediate aftermath of 9/11, his words still hold true for the run up to the invasion. Many of the strongest voices of decent could be found on liberal blogs, while many of the strongest pro-war voice arguably resided in the mass media.
The author of one popular weblog said; �Some people cope by hearing and distributing information in a crisis. I�m one of those people, I guess. Makes me feel like I�m doing something useful for those that can�t do anything.� [5]
Blogs have provided an easy resource for readers to find the truth, or at least a greater truth, about events in recent years. Many people who watched and read the numerous reports from Tiananmen Square are still unaware that student leaders violated their hunger strike, for example. The myths that mass media creates when presenting or idealising a situation or group still persist in the mass consciousness even now, seventeen years later.
Those running anti-war blogs also tended to be the ones finding evidence of deceit by the coalition governments and revealing their propaganda as false. Bloggers in the U.S. and then later in Iraq have since been poking holes in the information presented by the administration."

Thats what I've been writing while I write this entry. It sounds like a rambling load of old bollocks I know.

Still, it means I'm a step closer to finishing by my self-imposed Friday deadline.

~~~

Having now been working steadily for a few hours (four in fact) I can safely say I am fucked. I have too many words and my brain is trying to crawl our of my ears.

But hey, at least I didn't catch the cold I felt coming on last night!

I am going to be way over my word count. The only place I can afford to make cuts is in my second chapter. That means I'm going to have to cut Charlottee Beers I think. **Sigh** I wish I didn't have too, she illustrated some good points.

Actually, maybe cutting Radio Sawa out would be better. It serves less purpose than Beers does.

My main problem with the Iraq chapter is that there is just too much information and something new comes out every week. It's frustrating.

Anyway, I've been here for four hours and the library closes soon anyway s I am going to do a little bit more work on chapter three then call it a day.

...Damn, I left my stuff on the CNN Effect at home. Aw well.

Ja Ne Loves

Times Past - Times to Come