Dream with me

A thought on the Ball and Summer Sports


5:33 PM - May 18, 2006

Heh, I've had a fun day today. Not so sure my neighbours did but who cares? Apart from them, obviously.

I have been trying on my dresses for the Ball. And of course I had to try dancing in them! For two hours...heh I got a bit carried away.

Anyway, I've changed my mind about the dress. I was going to wear my gold ball gown but I think I'm going to switch to one of the black ones. It's easier to move in, lighter and I don to worry about the skirt falling down all night ^-^

Besides, the black one I chose compliments my figure better. It's not my favourite of the two, but it is the one I will be most comfortable in.

Now, if I can just find where I put that white scarf to go with it... I was checking it out with the ball gown a few days ago and I could have sworn I put it back in the draw but it's gone. So I'm going to have to search for that.

Nadine has gone home for the week. I thought she might when she said Dave was coming up. To be honest, I only really noticed when I phoned to ask to borrow and oven dish and it turned out she was 200+ miles thata way.

Still not to worry, I've seen Liz a lot more. Gee, I wonder why!?

It's not like Nadine and Liz don�t like each other, they've never spent enough time with each other for that, but the do make each other uncomfortable.

Given that Liz is coming to the Ball with me (and I'm going with Nadine and Co.) it could be interesting.

There are things about Liz that bug me. She's very conservative and quite anti-immigration whereas I am very liberal and think immigration is an extremely positive (if inexplicable (Why come here? Seriously. Why?!)) thing. So there are just some things we don't talk about and then we get on famously.

Urg, Lord help us but Big Brother starts again tonight. Dear gods. Time to block out E4 for the next eight weeks!

Ok. Well, unless you've been living under a rock (or in the U.S.) you can't fail to have noticed that the World Cup approaches once again.

Over recent years I've gotten in to sport but football still doesn't appeal, above the usual men-in-shorts draw, anyway. I watched Liverpool with the Cup on Sunday because I am a Liverpool fan (by virtue of my Dad being a Liverpool fan and it gives us something to talk about). I tried to watch Arsenal yesterday but by gods it was boring! My dad was right, they scored one goal and sat back on the defensive line for the rest of the match.

Shockingly they lost because of two late goals from Barcelona. Some nice tactics from that team, gotta say.

Liverpool tend to play exciting games. Nothing can top the Champions League win from last year, it was awesome!

But I am dreading the World Cup. Not because of the clich� 'football widow' syndrome (it needs a boyfriend for that) but because the entire media from the news to the Now Show becomes obsessed with England�s "chances."

When oh when will they except that England has about as much chance of winning the World Cup as I do of sprouting wings and flying to Mars.

It is not going to happen. They may progress to the semi-finals, if they have an extraordinary run of luck but they will, as ever, fluff it once there. Because they play like Arsenal, not Liverpool.

So I am dreading this summer. There are not even any really good athletics events to break up the monotony. And if there are they won't be shown because of the bleeding footie.

Sometimes I envy the Americans and then I remember about the NFL, NBA and all the other sporting acronyms we are besieged with on U.S. shows (no clue what most of them mean, though).

Also: You can't call it the World Series if only American takes part!

On an interesting note, I was reading the wierd story a few days ago that the U.S. footbal team at the World Cup will be the only team without their national flag on the side of their team bus. Apparently officials fear that rampant Anti-Americanism in Europe will automatically means violence or vandalism if the flag is there.

Yes, there is bound to be violence at the Cup (probably thanks to British fans, frankly) but it is far more likely to be targeting Brazil, France or Germany, seeing as they have a tendancy to, you know, win. And we have a tendancy to, you know, not.

Glory be for we suck at all things sporting!

'Cept for those times when we don't. Then we rock ^-^

Anyway, I am going to go home and have some dinner now. Liz was an utter Angel yesterday and loaned me a fiver so I could buy bread and food to last until tomorrow.

Course, my mum phoned me today to tell me my money has gone in early (a �25 gift to spend on the Ball). I wish she'd told me yesterday, frankly.

Ja Ne loves ^-^

Times Past - Times to Come