Dream with me

A Big Decision to Make...


6:17 PM - May 26, 2006

**Dances and cheers happily around the room!**

SCORE!

I've been granted a reprieve! Instead of going home tomorrow I can stay at Uni for another week and a half! JOY!

Not only that, but I got called for an interview for the Japanese teaching job!

**Whoops, cheers and yells with joy!**

I have to call and arrange an interview date on Monday (it's too late now). Can you believe it?

Small problem - I won't have a valid passport for the interview. I can apply for a new one but it won't come for about two months (stupid government) so I'll have to check thats ok when I phone on Monday.

^-^ WOOOOO!

Happy!

I am really excited. I have been looking at their news letter (handily attatched the the email ^-^) and am getting even more excited!

Bah, I have to get a criminal check done, those things take ages! Supposedly one already got done on us because of the sprog but I don't think it ever went through.

Hmmm...I wonder if I've been incorrectly labled as a criminal like 2,000 other people this week?

Won't that be fun?

Handily, my mum accidently got me �10 phone credit. My dad got me �20 yesterday!

Of course, my provider is the worst (O2) because they are so damn expensive! A five minute chat to Nadine yesterday cost me �6!

Goodness knows how much the call on monday is going to cost but not to worry, I have credit ^-^

I should call James too. Maybe tomorrow, if I don't forget.

I'm so glad I'm not going home (not least because I haven't packed yet). I also want to be able to relax a little longer, play video games and so on.

Oh, and I also have to go and see Mick next week for advice on postgraduate courses.

Heh, it's all go in the life of me!

I haven't told Nadine about the Japan thing and I won't until I know what is happening. I want to live with her, very much, but that can't happen if I do this. So until I have a deffinate 'yay' or 'nay' I won't tell her, it would be cruel and pointless.

...A thought occurs...Nadine sometimes reads my blog...

Right, must not mention my blog to her from now on so as not to remind her about it ^-^

Besides, I am trying very hard not to get my hopes up over this. There aren't that many details about exactly what they are looking for avaliable so I'm not sure how good or bad a chance I have.

And of course, as excited as I am about this, I have to give some serious thought to what I want to do.

Can I actually handle moving half way around the world? Literally away from every one and everything I have ever known? Into a new culture and a new environment that I really only know about from the destorted mirror of Manga and Anime? (Despite what manga tells me, I am pretty certain Japan is not populated by androids, wizards, angels and rampant perverts).

So I am going to have to think seriously about it over the weekend.

This position combines everything I've ever dreamed about doing; teaching, getting as far away from my old life as I can, doing something no one I know has done and visiting/living in Japan. Alright, so I hate kids but for this job, I can tolerate them without complaint!

Well...Without much complaint anway ^-^

So, naturally overall very happy but now being forced to seriously consider something I only applied for yesterday...

One of those irritating life changing things, a job like this. And if I am going to go to this interview then I am going at it 100% (which I don't ordinarily do with job interviews because I rarely actually want the job). If I go for the interview at all I want it to be because I made up my mind that this is what I want to do.

So...no pressure then.

But the thing is, if I do thise does that mean a career in teaching is what I will end up with? I don't want that. I still want to go into Academics or into politics in some way. Teaching was what I wanted to do when I was at school but I went off that idea a long time ago. So is this the right path? Or should I just keep plugging away at politics and just visit Japan on a holiday?

I wish Sivy was here, I could really use someone to talk to about this. But she is in the US at the moment.

Charlie is occupied moving into their new flat this weekend. Since Richard got fired for destroying samples at his old job, they've decided to move out of London and up to York so she can get a better job. So calling her is out of the question because her head will be full of other things.

That really only leaves Nadine and since I'm not telling her about this yet I'm stuck.

Having only three close friends really blows sometimes.

**Sigh** maybe I should invite Liz over? A few old episodes of the West Wing and a sounding board?

I'll see if she's up for it...

Later. First I have to make dinner and put the cleaner round my room.

Ok, this download is driving me mad!

It downloads fine but if I am typing when it goes through its final stage (transfering onto USB for something) it cancels the download and I have to start all over again!

So I will have to keep an eye on it now as this is the third/forth time I've tried to do this.

...

Ok. Got it.

Now I'm just filling the last few megabytes with Onegai Twins then I can go home ^-^

Oh, and a few new cute arts by Raila if I have the space.

YAY! I do!

Right, well I'm off for the night.

Ja Ne loves

P.S. Any advice on weather or not to take this opportunity will be very much appreciated.

Times Past - Times to Come