Dream with me

Gore-Clark - A Winning Combination?


1:19 PM - June 01, 2006

Ok well this is not going to be so much of an entry as an excuse to give my brain something to think about while I download manga (it's being very slow today).

I've been reading the Daily Kos (shockingly) and the subject on everyones mind in the community is the 2008 Presidential election.

Of course, it is still two years away but the candidates are already gearing up to announce. Fundraising, garnering support and then the pre-announcement campaigns all take a lot of forward planning.

I was reading the Kos and, until recently, I was supporting Hillary Clinton. Then I started to read more about her and now she feels patronising and slick. It feels like she is more interested in being the first female President than she is in reversing the damage done by this administration. She does not have the guts I wish she had, to critisise when critisism is due. She only seems to speak out against Bush when it suits her agenda and the news cycle is right.

If you'll remember a while back, I was crowing with delight about the possibility of a Gore run. Of course, he keeps saying he won't run in 2008 but I am still hopeful. For one thing, the denials could conciveable be part of a strategy to get netroots support on his side. If it is, then it s working, the progressive community are clammouring for him to run.

Back in that previous post I thought about the virtues of a Clinton-Gore run again.

However, I recently found this enlightening piece from the BBC about potential presidential candidates, both Dem and Rep.

Now that I have forsaken Clinton, in many ways, I've been thinking about other potential VP's.

I thought even back in 2004 that the Dems would have had a much better chance against Bush if they had run an Edwards-Kerry ticket instead of the other way around.

I think, though, that is Gore were to get the nomination then Edwars would be his perfect VP. Edwards is slick - maybe a little too slick (watching him on the Daily Show ages ago he seemed a little rehersed) and Gore is more down-to-earth and crusading. I think they would be a good mix.

Of course, we can't ignore the fact that we are, however unjustly, stuck in the middle of a new Cold War thanks to Bush and Co. So I've also been giving serious thought to a Gore-Clark ticket.

Wesley Clark is the "Former Nato Supreme Allied Commander in Europe who led the anti-Serbia campaign in Kosovo in 1999."

I think a campaigner who speaks out in issues troubling many Americans - The War, Global Warming and Fuel Prices - coupled with a strong, visible military leader who has been vocal in critisisms of military policies toubling the public would be the perfect ticket.

While it will not appeal to the Right Wing (no liberal ticket ever will, I suspect) it stands a good chance of swaying moderate Republican voters who are disillusioned with a party rocked by scandles and a President who ignores their fiscal values. Moderates who are deeply concerened by matters of security could find comfort in a ticket with provides a sound understanding of how to keep them safe as well as an intelligent, rational and non-exclusive domestic social and foriegn policy agenda.

So that, I have decided, is who I am rooting for. A Gore/Clarke ticket to restore America's ethics and values again.

-Makes me wish I could vote in the election!-

Well, that is my political ramble finished. Carry On!

Ja Ne

Times Past - Times to Come