Dream with me

Back Home. Interview Bad. Urg.


10:41 PM - June 10, 2006

Well, I have now been at home going on six days so I thought it best to write me entry now ^-^

Monday was the trip home and was utterly uninteresting. Ditto Tuesday where the biggest thing I did was go buy a train ticket.

Wednesday was my interview in London and, to put it simply, it did not go well.

To start with it was swelteringly hot so I looked appalling (frizzy hair, red face, not good.)

The seminar part of the day went well. We had to do a 45 second talk on a picture of Japan without any preparation beyond 15 secs staring at it. I was blathering on about some snow festival I'd never even heard of and wishing I'd gotten the Hot Springs one. There was a little more running around than I expected (we were asked to play a game for elementary school kids) where the only real issue was trying to keep my trousers from falling down.

Then I got told my interview was at 4:50pm. 5 hours later!

So I ended up wandering up and down Oxford Street for four hours. I bought lunch and a book and found a little park I could sit in to read. It was desperately boring. I was phoning everyone I thought I could get a hold of just to have something to do!

At 3:30pm I'd had enough so I made my slow-ass way back to Regent Street. I'd intended to sit in their nice cool reception for an hour with those waiting for her interview and read my book. I figured I could compose myself as I'd gotten even sweatier and frizzier since that morning.

I went there only to discover that whoever was before me had not turned up and so was whisked in to this interview straight off.

It. Was. Terrible.

I had no answers so I was making shit up. I had to try to remember this exercise she'd shown us four hours before and repeat it and my mind had gone blank. I was humming and ermming. I was totally disorientated and I didn't even have my jacket on!

She didn't shake my hand when I left.

You know sometimes you just know you've blown it? Well it was one of those times.

I was nearly in tears on the train home, and I did cry in the car. I really wanted that job.

I'm still feeling a little dejected but my mum perked me up. How odd is that? My mum, usually the source of my tears, fears and neurosis, cheered me up.

I'm applying to take my Post Graduate degree for this September, once I know my results, which I am supposed to be finding out the week after my birthday.

I've been humming and hawing over it and we all know that if I go and get a job and move in with Nadine and do all of that, I will never go. And I really want to do it.

You know, out of the two of us, I'd have bet money it would have been Nadine who backed out.

Still, we don't know if I'll even get accepted yet.

Thursday was uninteresting. Went to the post office to get a Passport renewal form which I need to go visit Sivy whatever happens and to Tesco�s.

Friday, went back to Stoke to get the rest of my stuff. It's nice to have all of my books and DVD's in the same place again (although they don't all fit ^-^) but a little depressing.

I have too much crap.

I'm annoyed with my parents shitty internet service provider. I can only download 2GB of data before they're so called 'Unlimited Service' reaches it's limit. I'm encouraging mum to switch, needless to say.

Of course, I'd reached almost half that limit by the time I found out. So now I can only download stuff I *really* want.

If I manage to get a decent job and I don't need a flat deposit, I'm getting my own phone line upstairs.

We went to Cambridge today (the world is against me laying in) which was fine but it's not nearly as interesting when you have no money and therefore can't go to Forbidden Planet.

I toyed with the idea of asking my parents for a couple of video games I want for my birthday - Legend of Manna, Tales of Eternia, Star Ocean - but scrapped it because they would inevitably get it wrong.

I will say what I don't want though.

Make up - You buy this for me and it proves you don't know me at all.

Jewellry - I never wear it. Not ever.

Shoes - If there is one thing I don't need more of, it's shoes.

Clothes of any description - Again, none of my family knows me well enough to know what I like.

Socks - I get these every time. WHY!? I NEED NO SOCKS!

Bath stuff - I don't take baths. I hate baths. Pointless.

So I have a list of stuff I don't want but nothing that I do.

I've just asked for money to go towards deposit/holiday/Uni.

Oh yes. I realise this is a long shot. But if the person who wanted the Gravi Scans last year still wants them, I've found them.

A long shot I know, but it's worth a try.

Gravitation was one of the series that I was forced to give up because every time I stood in front of a display of manga I could never remember witch volumes I had. Which I had in volumes, which in scans and how the chapters related to volumes.

So I gave up. Still, having found these scans I may start again.

While in Cambridge today, I bought a dress for Graduation. A nice floaty black summer dress that shows off the lower half of my legs (wish I'd shaved recently though ^-^;). It's nice. Almost the sort of this Nadine wears but not quite.

Not that it makes a difference. Nadine never did her work placement so she wont be graduating anyway.

Still it's a beautiful dress. I got it two sizes too large, just to make sure it looked good. It's a little loose around the chest (not a sensation I'm familiar with in clothes) but it looks great.

Plus, if the weather stays like this, I will be thankful for the coolness of it.

So tomorrow I intend to full relax, at last. Do some writing and watch some West Wing.

I did some DS writing today, as a matter of fact. Just fleshed out a little bit of Lillian's character in a certain scene and added some more to the end of the scene I was writing last time I worked on it.

So far I have a clear plan for the plot up to the beginning of Chapter Three, so writing it does become somewhat simpler.

I would like to finish chapter one my tomorrow. Tonight maybe, if I still feel like it once this entry is done.

It's quite appealing, to put on the West Wing and just loose myself to Lillian and Flick.

In case you can't tell, I am downloading while I write this entry, which is why it is so long and disjointed, The download has already cancelled on me twice so it's one of those ones you have to watch.

I've not been writing about the Daily Kos because I've not read them this week. They are all rather preoccupied by their convention, YearlyKos, so I'm a little disinterested. I'll start reading again just as soon as they start blogging about politics again.

I could blog about Penny Arcade but frankly, it's not as impressive.

Currently, I am lamenting the lack of Gambit-ness in X-3 with Sivy.

Right, well I shall bid thee all farewell for the night.

Ja Ne my lovelies.

Times Past - Times to Come