Dream with me

Job Hunting


12:35 PM - July 27, 2006

I have spent a Fascinating morning today applying for jobs and I have come to a conclusion. It is impossible to write "I'm wonderful, Hire me" in a way that does not sound pretentious and utterly false.

This all feels like I am banging my head against a twenty foot high brick wall. I'd be amazed if anyone anywhere manages to find a job, these days.

I mean, I'm looking on a graduate jobs website and they all want 2 - 5 years experience. WTF?!

I've just found something amusing though. MI5 are advertising! Covert.

Although they do say at the bottom of the page no to tell anyone other than parents / partner if you are applying. I think you can probably guess by the fact I am even writing this that I am not applying. I'm not sure I have what it takes for the heady world of "Agent Liason."

Besides, call me crazy but I doubt they let you blog if you work for MI5. It probably poses some risk to national security if you bitch about your job in Counter Intelligence and how much the guys from the Terrorism Unit annoy you and keep stealing the coffee machine.

Certainly couldn't post on the Kos anymore.

Heh, that amused me.

Anyway, I've applied to loads that I doubt I will get interviews for (behold the positivity!). Still, it kills time if nothing else.

Oooh, Scrubs is on soon.

I've started another diary on a different site. I'm not leaving Diaryland, of course. I have a great affection for the site and this diary. But I wanted somewhere a little more private.

So I'm requesting that if I don't tell you myself where it is, that you not try to find it. And if you find it by mistake, you leave it alone.

Thanks.

Ja Ne loves

Times Past - Times to Come