Dream with me

Liverpool University and Athletics


3:34 PM - August 09, 2006

I got some very good news yesterday!

I got a letter from Liverpool University and, subject to gaining a 2:1 from them they're offering me a place!

Sort of.

It's all very odd but basically the admissions department has recommended that I be given a place on the course. As for the 2:1 thing, I am assuming they take my transcripts and work out what I would have gotten from them.

So fingers crossed!

I should hear by next Wednesday I suppose.

So a muted 'yay' I suppose.

^-^

I've been looking at their accommodation and things. It's expensive, twice the highest amount I ever paid at Staffs. But I must admit, they are palaces by comparison!

Although I had a great time there, Caladonia Court was a dump. At one point we were down to one working shower between about thirty of us. Plus the boys coming up from downstairs because theirs was in such a state. My roof leaked all the time and my window frame rotted towards the end but all in all I liked my time there.

Because my friends were there and we hung out quite a lot.

But the halls at Liverpool are about �3,555 a year. So if I get the max bank loan I'll only have �1000 for books and essentials. Which means I need a Boots job or something.

And because it is a Masters Degree my 'book fund' will not be like my Undergrad. When I spent it on food or going out or in the Ember. I'll actually have to buy the books i need.

But I am very excited.

Once I know for certain what I am doing I'll go to Barclays and get the loan. Also, an extension on my overdraft.

Of course, if I get a place in London that brings up new and fun issues. Like do I live at home while I study?

I really don't want too. It will drive me up the wall. But accommodation will be much more expensive in central London.

Of course, this is really only an issue if I get into Goldsmiths. It seems unlikely, but a chance to study at such a reputable institution is not something I can easily pass up. Not without kicking myself repeatedly in years to come, anyway.

Still, Cardiff remains my very first choice and if I get a place there then all bets are off.

Their accommodation is pretty much the same price although largely private. There is one soley for Postgrad and Mature students so that would be first choice, obviously.

Looking at Goldsmiths it seems I would have to study from home because I have missed the deadline for accommodation. Plus it is stupidly expensive!

Maybe I could afford a small studio flat if I was working full time but studying as well? There is no chance.

So whatever happens I need a part time job. That was obvious.

Stoke was impossible because there was such high unemployment anyway. But it should be quite simple in Liverpool or Cardiff.

In theory. These things all work well in theory.

Apart from all of that, I have been indulging in Athletics for the past two days. Sadly, our sprinters failed to set the 100m alight but with any luck our ladies will fair better. It was nice, however, to see two of them in the final.

Overall, yesterday was a little disappointing. Especially in the Heptathlon, where it was the Javlin yet again, that let our girls down.

Still, we got a well deserved silver in the long jump from Greg Rutherford which was wonderful. As a bonus, he is young and will therefore be at the height of his career come 2012.

**Grin** there is no Olympics this year for me to bore you all with but I will settle for the Championships.

Right, well I want to end this entry here because I promised myself I'd write something for the Kos today so I want to get to that.

I'll check in soon.

Ja Ne loves

Times Past - Times to Come