Dream with me

Rant


12:18 PM - April 13, 2007

Ok. I am feeling extreamly angry today and need to vent. So if you don't feel like listening to a rant about people I work with then I suggest skipping this post.

I feel like I have been violated.

The gossiping in the CSV office has reached the point where I don't even want to be there any more. I found out last night that a person I have met all of once and who does not work for CSV was told about my decision to leave. That she TOLD my friend before I had chance to do so myself. The reason she knew: She lives with a member of staff who told her. A member of staff who has NOTHING TO DO with my project whatsoever!

I also found out that they sat in the office with the door wide open and tried to guess why I was leaving! Sat and DISCUSSED it like it was entertainment!

All that I can live with, I suppose, even if it is so unprofesssional that it makes my skin crawl.

What has really gotten me angry, driven me to seek a different placement, is the fact that my grandfathers ill health (something divulged to my supervisor in confidence) is a well known fact among staff AND volunteers! Something that is so personal that sheer common decency would render it confidential has been discussed, disected and analysed by people who are strangers to me!

Alright, so I took a day of leave to visit him in hospital so yes, some kind of reason had to be given. That reason SHOULD have been 'family problems' not 'her grandad is so ill he might die. Discuss.'

It sickens me. I am a very private person, more so than the average I am sure, and to have a confidence I trusted so visciously violated in this manner is beyond the pall for me. I cannot bear it. It makes me feel dirty and humiliated.

And now, next week, I have to tell all this to my supervisor. I know I could give any number of different reasons for seeking a transfer but it does me and the other volunteers no favours to leave these issues unaddressed.

I am dreading it, to say the least.

I am absolutely fuming about this (in case you couldn't tell). I am so beyond angry.

Office gossip is a fact of life. But to take things said in confidence and spread them around to strangers is unforgivable. To discuss my life with people outside of the organisation is a gross misconduct in my book and not something I can live with.

Hexa

Times Past - Times to Come